Production

Natural enjoyment through gentle refining

The carefully selected fruit and vegetables from our farming partners are brought to our house where they are pressed with meticulous care preserving the vital substances and then pasteurized by a special heating process with immediate short-term re-cooling. The original, typical fruit flavour and the natural plant ingredients are largely preserved as are the vitamins and minerals. The juice for our field fresh vegetable juices is bottled directly into bottles after pressing. A large tank farm absorbs the gently pasteurised direct NFC juice, however – until they are combined according to our numerous, enjoyable recipes such as, for example, the 7 Zwerge Kindersaft (juice for kids), Multi Natur or Apple-Mango. We always make sure that the transport distances are as short as possible. Exotic fruits are transported environmentally friendly via ship. Several of our partners process their fruit already on-site to juice or purée to save space and energy and preserve the value-lending ingredients of the fully ripe fruit. Quality and processing steps are regularly monitored by us.

 

Our quality management

In the manufacture of Voelkel natural juices, we comply with the certification requirements of the Demeter Association, the EC organic regulation, as well as the guidelines of the Bundesverbandes Naturkost Naturwaren (BNN) [German Association of Organic Processors, Wholesalers and Retailers]. In addition, production is certified according to the ISO (International Organisation for Standardisation) and FSSC22000 (Food Safety System Certification) standards. 

The quality management at Voelkel is certified according to DIN EN ISO 9001 and is designed to meet the requirements for product safety and to minimise the impact of production on the environment. Regular audits by independent auditors ensure compliance. The quality of the products is constantly monitored in two in-house laboratories. All raw materials and finished goods can be fully traced.

The natural juices are bottled using modern machinery. Still, handwork and traditional production methods play a major role at Voelkel. Because organic juices are not mass-produced. The wide range requires complex adjustments to the equipment before each filling. The batches are very small compared to conventional drinks manufacturers. Added to this are innovative products with complex development and production phases. Only through decades of experience and highly trained professionals, can we supply the esteemed Voelkel quality.

 

Our environmental management

In addition to raw ingredients, the production processes also play an important role in our responsible dealing with nature. To keep resource consumption and emissions as low as possible, our natural juicing facility relies on efficient processes and modern equipment. Ongoing investments are made to keep the machines on the cutting edge of technology and to optimise processes. Our environmental management complies with the specifications of the international standard DIN EN ISO 14001 as well as DIN EN ISO 50001, which is specially oriented to the support of systematic energy management. Environmental management is part of our integrated management system and makes an important contribution to the achievement of sustainable corporate policies, projects and practical assistance with its guidelines.

Produktion

Natürlicher Genuss durch schonende Veredelung

Die sorgfältig ausgewählten Frucht- und Gemüsesorten unserer Anbaupartner werden in unserer Naturkostsafterei schonend und werterhaltend gepresst und der Direktsaft anschließend durch ein spezielles Kurzzeiterhitzungsverfahren pasteurisiert. So bleiben der ursprüngliche, fruchttypische Geschmack und auch die natürlichen Pflanzeninhaltsstoffe, wie Vitamine und Mineralstoffe, weitestgehend erhalten. Der Saft für unsere feldfrischen Gemüsesäfte wird direkt nach dem Pressen in Flaschen abgefüllt. Ein großes Tanklager nimmt dagegen die schonend pasteurisierten Direktsäfte auf – bis sie zu unseren zahlreichen, genussvollen Rezepturen wie zum Beispiel den 7 Zwerge Kindersaft, Multi Natur oder Apfel-Mango vereint werden. Wir achten stets darauf, die Transportwege so kurz wie möglich zu halten. Der Transport exotischer Fruchtsorten erfolgt umweltschonend per Schiff. Damit Platz und Energie gespart werden und die wertgebenden Inhaltsstoffe der vollreifen Früchte erhalten bleiben können, verarbeiten einige unserer Partner ihre Früchte bereits vor Ort zu Saft oder Püree. Qualität und Verarbeitungsschritte werden regelmäßig von uns überwacht.

 

Unser Qualitätsmanagement

Bei der Herstellung von Voelkel Naturkostsäften werden die Zertifizierungsvorschriften des Demeter-Verbandes, die EG-Bio-Verordnung sowie die Richtlinien des Bundesverbandes Naturkost Naturwaren (BNN) eingehalten. Zusätzlich ist die Produktion nach den ISO-(International Organization for Standardization) und FSSC22000-Standards (Food Safety System Certification) zertifiziert.

Das Qualitätsmanagement im Hause Voelkel ist nach der DIN EN ISO 9001 zertifiziert und dient dem Zweck, die Anforderungen an die Produktsicherheit zu erfüllen und die Auswirkung der Produktion auf die Umwelt zu minimieren. Regelmäßige Audits durch unabhängige Prüfer stellen die Einhaltung der Richtlinien sicher. In zwei hausinternen Laboren wird laufend die Qualität der Produkte überwacht. Alle Roh- und Fertigwaren lassen sich somit lückenlos rückverfolgen.

Die Naturkostsäfte werden mithilfe modernster Maschinen abgefüllt. Trotzdem spielen Handwerk und traditionelle Herstellungsmethoden eine große Rolle bei Voelkel. Denn Naturkostsäfte sind keine Massenprodukte. Das breite Sortiment verlangt vor jeder Füllung aufwendige Einstellungen an den Anlagen. Die Chargen sind, gemessen an Herstellern konventioneller Getränke, sehr klein. Hinzu kommen innovative Produkte mit aufwändigen Entwicklungs- und Herstellungsphasen. Nur durch jahrzehntelange Erfahrung und gut ausgebildete Fachkräfte können wir diese geschätzte Voelkel-Qualität liefern.

 

Unser Umweltmanagement

Neben der Rohware spielen auch die Produktionsprozesse eine wichtige Rolle beim verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit der Natur. Um Ressourcenverbrauch und Emissionen so gering wie möglich zu halten, setzt unsere Naturkostsafterei auf effiziente Prozesse und moderne Anlagen. Laufend werden Investitionen getätigt, um die Maschinen auf dem neusten Stand der Technik zu halten und Prozesse zu optimieren. Unser Umweltmanagement entspricht den Vorgaben der international gebräuchlichen DIN EN ISO 14001, sowie der DIN EN ISO 50001, die speziell auf die Unterstützung eines systematischen Energiemanagement ausgerichtet ist. Das Umweltmanagement ist Teil unseres integrierten Managementsystems und leistet mit seinen Richtlinien, Projekten und praktischen Hilfestellungen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Verwirklichung einer nachhaltigen Betriebsentwicklung.